Rahila’s 1st Women’s Day

Rahila,

Happy Intl. Womens Day

The first of many, Inshallah. 

It gives me great pleasure to think I can share this day with you.

My daughter.

Im still not used to the term.

Daughter is a term, I associated with myself, your nani and nana. 

Now that I have you…it feels a strange concept. 

You must know Rahila, you come from a line of strong women:

Your Nani: A successful businesswoman at 50s.

Your Dadi: The first from her rural home to be educated at college and raised two incredible sons, your dad and chachu. 

Your Boro Ma: A struggling widow who rebuilt her life at 60s. 

Your Boro Bubu: A strong headed lady who supervised construction of her 3 story house back in the 70s and raised an incredibly kind gentleman, your Nana. 

All these women had one thing in common: They maintained their social responsibility as a woman as well as made an identity of their own, in their own unique way. 

On your first women’s day,  let me tell you that life will not feel fair, as a woman. There will be times in life when other genders feel privileged, but never forget that being a woman and a woman from a line of incredible strong ancestors is a bigger privelege. Never forget who you are, where you come and become an example for generations to come! 

Leave a comment