The way we remember things

After moving 13 houses, 13 neighbourhoods, 4 countries, 3 continents, I have learnt one thing. 

Everything changes, even relationships, everything except the way we remember things.

I envy people who can dig up an old T shirt from their childhood and say “I used to wear this when I was in High School!” 

I recall my Chacha Chowdhury comic book collection, my walkman, my kindy graduation hat, the brown file from Class 1, a gift from my first bangladeshi friend in Canada, my painted T shirts…and the list can go on. Each object, each house embeded in me experiences that built me to who I am today. So occassionally I do miss them, or the joy of recalling the memories made around them!

Ma and dad tried to hold on to some souvenirs,but after moving 3 continents, its almost impossible to keep track of things. I learnt to let go of objects. I used to cry on the last day of every move; and now I smile and think of all the beautiful experiences I made. 

Its not easy, letting go of things that are precious! We put in a lot of effort towards that tangible object and watching it taken away makes us pine for it in our hearts. But the truth is, we cling onto the memories made around those objects. 

Because everything changes, even relationships, everything except the way we remember things.

Leave a comment